Doctrinal Foundation of Devotion to the Sacred Heart

A great article on the Catholic devotion to the the Sacred Heart of our Lord Jesus Christ.

by The Servant of God Fr. John A. Hardon, S.J.

Sacred Heart - TurgisMost of us know that Devotion to the Sacred Heart is part of our Catholic religion. We have known from childhood about the nine first Fridays. We often recite the Litany of the Sacred Heart. Annually we celebrate the solemn feast of the Sacred Heart. I am sure that we know several aspirations, like: “Sacred Heart of Jesus, I place my trust in thee.” Over the years, every time I pick up the telephone, before I talk to whoever called, I make an aspiration to the Sacred Heart. It helps; you never know who is on the other side. There are pictures and statues of the Sacred Heart. I would like to recommend that every home have at least a picture or a statue of the Sacred Heart. Some of us, I dare say, have memorized the twelve promises of…

View original post 1,828 more words

Leave a Reply

